39 weeks 4 days

Jolted awake today after hearing what sounds like a struggle and yelp from Punk. Got up and felt a trickle of liquid down there. Tried lying down and getting up again to see if it’s my water bag that broke or urine. Called the doctor, he told me to wear a pad and monitor it throughout the day. So yeah, still not sure if I’m going into labour or not. No contractions too

Back to Punk. First thing that came to my mind (before I realised I’m leaking) was that someone was attacking him. Discovered his chain collar had somehow got stuck on the grill door so that explains the struggle and yelp. Don’t know how that happened :/
I’ve been meaning to write down a few more things about being pregnant and since I might go into labour any time, now is a good time to do that, even though I’m sleepy (2 hours after waking up involuntarily).
  • If you want to wear dresses, it’s better to pull it over your head than stepping into it, especially when your belly very big and you’ve mostly gained weight around your hips/thighs/ass.
  • On top of finding it a bit challenging wiping my ass, I recently discovered it takes a bit more effort to wipe the front as well. It’s not as bad as it sounds but still need some getting used to.
  • After sleeping on the side for about 1-2 hours (or 3 hours at most), I need to turn over to the other side as the hips get very sore and crampy. While doing that, I feel like I’m lugging a bag of bricks on my belly/chest. Not so fun.
  • So when side sleeping isn’t working, I try to sleep upright, at an almost 70 degree angle. When it feels uncomfortable doing that on the bed (which is usually the case), I move to the computer chair, prop my legs on the bed and try to get some sleep.
  • At times, I feel like I’m not ready to go into labour. The thought of going to a foreign place like the hospital is just scary. And the moments after that – can I breastfeed properly, how do I bath her, how do I carry her properly, etc etc etc. On the other hand, I sometimes can’t wait to meet her after 9 long months.
  • And oh, have been having Braxton-Hicks contractions (or what they call practice/false contractions) very often. Sometimes with cramps too. Must be very near now.
I should go lie down a bit. Weather is very nice for a nap right now. I (half) hope that I am really going into labour but everything’s good with Emma. Can still feel her move and my instinct tells me it’s all ok, so it should be fine.
Toodles!
Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 1,553 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 315 other followers

